Bookmark and Share

Commissioner Biographies

The Treaty Commission's impartiality and ability to provide a balanced perspective is reflected in its composition and the way it makes decisions. Commissioners do not represent the Principals that appoint them, but act independently. Decisions require the support of one appointee of each of the Principals.

The First Nations Summit appoints two commissioners and the federal and provincial governments appoint one each. The chief commissioner is appointed to a three-year term by agreement of the three parties. The four part-time commissioners serve two-year terms.

To view the biographies please click on the individual images of the commissioners.

Celeste Haldane
Celeste A. Haldane
Celeste Haldane was elected by the First Nations Summit for a third two-year term in February 2015. Celeste is a practising lawyer and holds a LL.M. in Constitutional Law from Osgoode Hall Law School, York University, a LL.B. and B.A. in Anthropology both granted by the University of British Columbia.
She was appointed by the Provincial Government to serve on the Board of Governors for the University of British Columbia. Celeste is an active member of the Canadian Bar Association and is on the Executive of both the National Constitutional & Human Rights Forum and the National Women’s Lawyer Forum. She previously served four years as Chair on the Musqueam Land Code Committee, successfully leading the Land Code process through development and community ratification. Celeste now participates on the Musqueam Intergovernmental Affairs Committee and the Housing, Lands and Capital Committee.
Celeste is a member of the Sparrow family from the Musqueam Indian Band and is Tsimshian through Metlakatla. She and her husband Conrad have three children and one grandson.
Jerry Lampert
Jerry Lampert
Jerry Lampert was appointed in December 2007 by the Government of Canada, re-appointed to a two-year term in December 2009 and to a third-term in December 2011. Lampert served for 15 years as President and Chief Executive Officer of the Business Council of British Columbia, where he was a vocal advocate for developing better business relationships with First Nations in British Columbia.
Prior to joining the Business Council, Lampert was a principal in a government relations/public affairs consulting firm offering strategic and tactical advice to private sector corporations in their dealings with governments. He served as Chief of Staff to two Premiers of British Columbia and managed two successful provincial election campaigns in British Columbia. He has held many key political organization and advisory positions.
Tom Happynook
Tom Happynook
Tom Happynook was appointed in February 2015 by the Government of British Columbia to serve a two-year term. He is from huu ay aht First Nations and is the Head Hereditary Whaling Chief.
huu ay aht is one of the five communities that make up the Maa-nulth First Nations, which has been implementing their modern-day comprehensive treaty since April 1, 2011. Tom played a large role in the negotiations and implementation of huu ay aht's treaty. He was elevated to chief treaty negotiator with the mandate to bring the huu ay aht Final Agreement to conclusion in July 2007. He then took on the role of treaty implementation team leader from June 2009 to March 2011 to ensure the Nation had a smooth transition to self-governance.
Tom was a firefighter for sixteen years, retiring in 1998 as a Deputy Platoon Chief (Captain). He is married to Kathy Happynook, and together they have three children and four grandchildren.
Francis Frank
Francis Frank
Francis Frank was elected by the First Nations Summit for a two-year term beginning in March 2015. He is from Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations on the west coast of Vancouver Island and is a trained social worker with a BSW from the University of Victoria.
Prior to joining BCTC, Francis served his Nation in a variety of roles, including as Chief Councillor for fourteen years, negotiator for ten years, and band manager for six years. He has extensive experience in negotiations, and was directly involved in the negotiations of the first interim measures agreement, as well as the first incremental treaty agreement in British Columbia, successfully securing land and finances for his Nation.

Home | About Us | Negotiations | News and Events | Tools and Publications | Blog | Contact Us
©2009   Website designed by AMGmedia Works Inc